Love Muffin and Chai Latte- Anya Wylde

This book was classified a romantic comedy, which meant it automatically ticked a box for books I usually like to read. In fact, I didn’t even bother reading the description before I downloaded it from the Kindle store, so the story was going to be a complete surprise.

I must admit, the very first sentence of the book (“It all began on a dreary June day.”) did not fill me with much hope. It reminded me of stories I would write myself when I was younger and had just learned about the impact weather could have on a narrative. But, not one to give up on a book (especially after just one sentence!), I carried on. Soon the focus moved from the weather conditions onto the relationship Tabby and Chris, and this is where it did actually pick up!

In the mean time, it has to be said, that Wylde managed to paint a very vivid picture of the main character, Tabby. She was instantly likeable, probably due to the fact that her air of uselessness meant I felt sorry for her- but definitely in a good way! In fact, even in what was supposed to be a romantic occasion, Tabby manages to add her own special touch.

What I liked about Love Muffin and Chai Latte was that it was completely different to any type of romantic comedy I had read before. It wasn’t the cliché fairytale with the happy ending, but neither was there a tragic, heartbreaking twist. Instead, it is filled with comedy and humour as a very down to earth girl discovers the culture of her upper-middle class fiancé, making plenty of embarrassing mistakes along the way. Yes, some of the humour is a little tongue in cheek…but I would say only as much as some humour of Bridget Jones is. I suppose it would be possible to compare Tabby to the character of Bridget Jones, just with less pressure from her parents.

I found Tabby’s friend, whom she calls to retell the events of her life (of which there are many!), a really useful narrative technique. She helped add another dimension to the narrative, allowing the reader to hear the events from Tabby’s point of view, as well as that of the narrator.

The ending wasn’t predictable from the beginning, which was good as it kept me wanting to read. That, along with the fact that I genuinely cared about Tabby, and wished well for her, meant that I was able to finish the book in just a few days.

With all considered, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for an easy, yet amusing read. The narrative may not be the most complex, and the humour perhaps not the most intelligent, but this did not take away from how much I enjoyed it. I would definitely be interested in reading other books by the author!

Leave a Reply

