Falling For You-Julie Ortolon

I chose Falling For You  as I choose most of my Kindle book purchases- based on the reviews that previous readers have left about them. My theory is that, if someone has taken the time to go back to Amazon and share their feelings about the book, they must have strong feelings about it. I was looking for a fairly easy read that didn’t require too much concentration, and the reviews for this book were nearly all positive, so it seemed like a fail-safe option. Romantic comedies aren’t my favourite genre of book, but it did fit the bill of what I wanted on this occasion. Also, it is the first book of a trilogy, so I hoped that it could provide me with two good future reads.

My first impressions, as I read the opening chapter, was that it seemed very much like an American television show, targeted at teenage girls. Though it wasn’t what I was looking for, it wasn’t necessarily a negative thing and I continued to give it a chance. Unfortunately, I have to say that it only got worse. Every description of the setting, the characters and their emotions became sickeningly overloaded with adjectives to the point that, for me, it actually took away from the narrative- which I was actually genuinely interested in.

I did find the basis of the plot interesting, and I did wish to know how characters and their relationships were going to progress- but the characters when they weren’t described excessively. In fact, I think rather than the descriptions creating a very clear picture of what characters looked like and their personalities, the adjectives actually worked as a barrier that prevented me from getting to know them- it felt a bit forced and fake.

On a similar theme, I found the intimate scenes (completely necessary and inevitable in a book of this genre) a little bit uncomfortable to read, once again because of the over-the-top nature of description. Perhaps it was Ortolon’s intention to make the scene so dramatic and clichéd, but if this was the case, it wasn’t obvious enough. I understand that these types of scenes must be incredibly difficult to write, but I found myself laughing because the whole situation just seemed very silly- not helped by some of the similes used to describe it afterwards.

As a result of all of the cliché and exaggeration, I did find it very difficult to stick to my rule about finishing every book that I begin reading, simply because it made me feel a little uncomfortable. However, I did persevere and managed to complete it (I promise it wasn’t as much of a horrible task as that makes it sound!).

In spite of all my negativity, I must emphasise that I was interested in the narrative of the basic characters, and I must say that there were some quotes (mostly from Chance’s mother) that did stand out, and that I will remember. But I do really feel that the over-the-top description overshadowed this, and did make it seem like a teenage television series, and as a result I would not recommend it and shan’t be reading the two following books in the trilogy. However, having said that , it is very possible that I am simply the wrong target audience for such a book, and that others with particular interests may be less disappointed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

